Books (#52Blogs)

This is all very stream of conscious stuff, so please don’t judge me too harshly. 🙂

Right from when I could read I always had a book in my hand or my bag. I used to love going to bed at night, not just because I love my bed and everything it stands for, but it meant that I could read to my hearts content.

Mum tried for a while to get me to go to sleep at lights out, but she gave up eventually and figured at least I was doing something productive. It still didn’t stop me reading under the covers with a torch just for the hell of it.

Like most kids I used to order heaps of books from the school book club and I practically lived in the library. Soon though the goods on offer weren’t enough and I started to get Mum to order me more mature books from the mail order catalogs. That’s where Mum and I realized we had a shared interest in books about serial killers and true crime. I was reading books by Robert Ressler and John Douglas when I was 10.

This isn’t to say that I’m special or anything. I’m not really that bright, and I’m certainly no academic. But if I have an interest in a subject, I will read voraciously everything I can find. The invention of the Internet and Wikipedia has been a godsend for me.

Sadly as I’ve grown older, my reading habits have gotten rather stale. It’s not very often these days I sit down and just read. I guess i just got caught up reading text books for school and other things for work, that reading something just for the sheer hell of it fell by the wayside.

Last year I was heavily invested in the Hunger Games trilogy, and it was a real joy to be reading a book at two in the morning and STILL not want to put it down. I’m trying to get back into that habit, even if its just 10 minutes at the end of the day in bed. Typically though, I usually use that time to catch up on Twitter or Facebook. I really have to be more disciplined and put down the iDevices.

I guess my early love of books is also the genesis for my love of bookbinding. I was captivated by the game Myst when it came out, because even though it was on a computer and graphical, it was all about how magical books were. How they could (literally) transport you to new and fantastic places and adventures. When the expanded D’ni universe developed, I gravitated towards the Guild of Bookmakers.

Bookbinding is quite an involved process (to do it right) involving quite a few specialized tools, not to mention the scarcity of said tools and materials these days, which is the main reason why I’ve never actually gotten around to attempting it myself. I figure one day I will get my act together and try it for real.

After that, EVERYONE is getting journals and photo albums for Christmas, Birthdays, Bar Mitzvahs, Christenings and Funerals.

About Andy Dekens

Oddball currently living in Perth, Western Australia. Hoping to try and see some more of this amazing planet.

Posted on February 13, 2013, in 52 Blogs, General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There seems to be a very common thread on this particularly blog subject. Really enjoyed the read, buddy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

